CRE Hall of Fame

As a major research university, Florida State offers students the distinct opportunity to participate in undergraduate research with world-class faculty. The students featured here all participated in programs facilitated by the Center for Undergraduate Research and Academic Engagement (CRE), but as you will see, many of them were also highly involved with other offices and programs on campus, especially the University Honors Program and the Office of National Fellowships.

We hope that recent alumni who feel that undergraduate research was a stepping stone to their current success will nominate themselves here for inclusion on this page, and students already featured here can also email Latika Young, Director of the Center for Undergraduate Research and Academic Engagement (CRE), at to update the information displayed here.


Ornob Alam (2013)
2012 URCAA winner
 Currently: MHS Molecular Biology and Immunology, Johns Hopkins University


Jacob Gibbons (2013) 
 English: Editing, Writing and Media
2012 URCAA winner, 2012-2013 UROP Leader, ACC Travel Award winner
Also: FIG LeaderHonors in the MajorGarnet and Gold Scholar 
 Currently: Fulbright U.S. Student Grant , Leiden University


Shaye Hagler (2013)
2013 ACC Travel Award winner, “FSU Day at the Capitol” Presenter
Also: Honors in the Major 
 Currently: Postbaccalaureate Intramural Research Training Award, National Institutes of Health


Colin Jacobsen (2013) 
2012 URCAA Winner
Also: Honors in the MajorKingsbury Award 
 Currently: MPhil Criminology, University of Cambridge


Sami Moore (2013)
 Sociology and Psychology
2012-2013 UROP Leader 
Also: Outstanding Senior Scholar, Honors in the MajorGarnet and Gold Scholar 
 Currently: PhD Social Psychology, Temple University

Carleen Sabusap

CarleenMae Sabusap (2013)
2012-2013 UROP Leader, SCURC Ambassador
Also: Honors in the Major 
 Currently: PhD Biomedical Sciences, University of Alabama at Birmingham; Howard Hughes Medical Institute Med-Grad Fellowship


Kyle Serniak (2013) 
 Physics and Applied and Computational Mathematics
2011 URCAA winner
Also: National High Magnetic Field Laboratory 
 Currently: PhD Physics, Yale University


Caitlin Strawder (2013) 
 Political Science and Interdisciplinary Social Sciences
2012 Global Scholar
Also: Service ScholarSocial Science ScholarGarnet and Gold Scholar 
 Currently: Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship, Colombia


Alexis Baxter (2012) 
 Biochemistry and Environmental Chemistry
ACC Travel Award winner
Also: Honors in the Major 
 Currently: Fulbright U.S. Student Grant, University of Oslo


Manuel Ozambela (2012) 
2011 URCAA winner
Also: Honors in the Major 
 Currently: Harvard Medical School


William Boyce (2011) 
 History, Creative Writing, and Religious Studies
2010 MRCE winner, SCURC Ambassador
Also: Honors DelegatesHonors in the MajorFulbright U.S. Student Grant, University of Glasgow 
 Currently: Gordon-Cromwell Theological Seminary


Jonathan Dupree (2011)
 Classical Archaeology and International Affairs
2010 URCAA winner
Also: Critical Language Scholarship winnerGlobal Pathways Certificate 
 Currently: MA Security Policy Studies, George Washington University


Joni Wildman (2011) 
 Studio Art and Creative Writing
2010 URCAA winner 
Also: Kingsbury Award 
 Currently: MFA Studio Art, University of Wisconsin at Madison


Dayron Silverio (2011) 
2010 URCAA winner 
 Currently: University of Chicago Law

Stace Sirmans

Stace Sirmans 
2009 URCAA winner
Currently: Assistant Professor of Finance at University of Arkansas
Legacy Sort
Legacy Priority